Admin Login

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Finals Day @ Garvaghey

By tyronepro Mon 24th Jun

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Finals Day @ Garvaghey
Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Finals Day @ Garvaghey

This week the finals of the Tyrone primary school leagues were held at Garvaghey. 20 schools, who had qualified from their local sections, came together on a beautiful sunny day to compete for the 5 titles that were on offer.
Knocknagor PS, Trillick are the holders of the Iggy Jones Cup for the 3rd year in succession after defeating Roscavey PS in the final. All their team members performed very well – but twins, Jack and Josh Largo Elis, dominated their midfield positions and took most of scores in both semi-final and final. Rory Burns and Oisin Doran also performed exceptionally well in defence, linking well with the midfield partnership.
The Cumann na mBunscol Cup was won by St Mary’s PS, Ballygawley who overcame Roan St Patrick’s PS, Eglish in the decider. Steady and reliable at the back in defence was Pauric Traynor who cleared their lines many times under fire from the Roan boys. Odhran Robinson in midfield gave a great exhibition in high fielding and showed great determination throughout both games while Ben McDermott in forwards put his speed to good use and picked off some fine scores.
Sacred Heart PS, Rock are the winners of the Thaddy Turbitt Cup when they saw off the challenge of St Scire’s PS, Trillick. Midfielder and captain Thomas Mackle was dominant throughout while Shea Daly shored up the defence and kept Trillick’s best players scoreless. Emmet Mc Court was also magnificent in defence for the Tyrone and Ulster 5 a side Indoor Champions.
The Allianz Cup for the larger schools will rest in Carrickmore for the year when Mark Donnelly’s side emerged victorious in a round robin competition with St Patrick’s PS, Castlederg and St John’s PS, Moy. Brennain Collins had a match winning performance in goals. Seamus Sweeney made very important interceptions while up front Michael McCallan scored very important goals especially the winning goal against the Castlederg boys.
Carrickmore also retained the Ladies Shield. They defeated St Mary’s PS, Cabragh in the final. Orchid McNulty (full forward), Meadhbh McCallan (midfield) and Mairead McGarrity (Mid Field) were the stars for the Carmen ladies.
Sean McCartan, Martin Devlin and Kieran Eannetta were very efficient referees while Mickey Quinn and Eddie Doris ensured all competitions were run on schedule.
St Columbkille's P.S. Carrickmore, winners of the Allianz Cup St Scire's P.S. Trillick Sacred Heart P.S. Rock, winners of Thaddy Turbitt Cup. St Patrick's P.S.  Castlederg Captains of St Mary's Ballygawley with the Cumann na mBuscol Cup Captains of Knocknagor P.S. receive the Iggy Jones Cup from Brian McGurk and Eddie Doris

By tyronepro Mon 24th Jun

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners