Admin Login

Hurlers start 2014 with a win

By tyronepro Mon 3rd Mar

Warwickshire 1-15 Tyrone 4-13
A first half Matthew Mulgrew double inspired Tyrone to a 7 point win over Warwickshire at Pairc na hEireann in Birmingham. Aided by an almost gale force breeze in the first half, Tyrone got off to a flying start, hitting 1-7 without reply. Conor Grogan opened Tyrone’s account for the year within 90 seconds and that was quickly followed by a point from Duibhair Marshall on his Senior debut. The pressure continued and after a long ball into the square, a scramble ensued and Matthew Mulgrew fired to the net for his first goal of the game. Further points followed from Damian Casey (3), Conor Grogan and Aidan Kelly before the exiles got off the mark through the prolific Sean Hennessy, who finished the game with 10 points. Another Casey score was met with a mini-revival from Warwickshire with full forward Eamon Long driving to the net. However, Tyrone upped the ante again, with a 1-1 Matthew Mulgrew salvo taking his total to 2-1 for the day and leaving Tyrone in a 2-9 to 1-3 lead. 2 Further scores from Casey and a third Grogan point left Tyrone with a 2-12 to 1-3 lead at the short whistle.
The second half was dominated by Warwickshire with the wind in their backs, and they opened the second half scoring but an early second half goal from Gary Fox left Tyrone with a 3-12 to 1-4 lead. Warwickshire then hit 9 points without reply to close the gap to 5, through Hennessy free’s, a Pauric Creedon brace and Chris Brough, before Damian Casey got his 7th point of the game and Tyrone’s only point of the second half. Further Warwickshire points from Hennessy and sub Chris Lenahan closed the gap to 4 points before a great strike from Tiernan Morgan sealed a 7 point victory for Tyrone in new manager Mattie Lennon’s first game in charge.
Tyrone: Paddy McKillion, Conor McNally, Jason Kelly, Ruairi Devlin, Conor Casey, Stephen Donnelly, Tiernan Morgan, Christopher Cross, Mark Winters, Gary Fox, Conor Grogan, Aidan Kelly, Matthew Mulgrew, Damien Casey(c), Duibhir Marshall​ Sub Ciaran McCrudden for Fox
Tyrone Scorers: Matthew Mulgrew 2-1, Damian Casey 0-7, Conor Grogan 0-3, Gary Fox 1-0, Tiernan Morgan 1-0, Duibhair Marshall 0-1, Aidan Kelly 0-1

By tyronepro Mon 3rd Mar

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners