Admin Login

Major Féile handball titles for Tyrone

By tyronepro Mon 23rd Jun

Major Féile handball titles for Tyrone
Major Féile handball titles for Tyrone

Tyrone played host to much of this weekend’s All Ireland Féile na nGael Handball event and provided terrific entertainment and hospitality as part of this prestigious occasion. It also proved to be a hugely successful event for Tyrone clubs and players with eye-catching successes in the blue ribband event of the Boys Grade in Division 1 as well as a clean sweep in Division 2.
In the Division 1 Boys series, Carrickmore were hugely impressive winners of the overall title as they produced an unblemished record from the opening round of games on Saturday. The team of Cormac Munroe (Captain), Darragh Canavan, Lorcan McBride and Ciara Mullan had big wins over Cullohill, Loughmacrory and Monaghan Harps before going on to secure the title with a win in the final over Mallow (Cork) in Beragh on Sunday. Darragh Canavan and Lorcan McBride teamed up against Cian O’Driscoll and Conor Walshe in game 2 and following a terrific tussle emerged winners by 21-13. Cormac Munroe and Ciara Mullan went on to claim the honours as they were emphatic 21-3 winners against Mikey O’Malley and Ciaran Donnelan to take the title to the Carrickmore club for a fourth time by 42-16 overall.
Loughmacrory also delivered a unique Boys and Girls Féile Division 2 double on Sunday. The Boys team of Antoin Fox, Dara Curran, Shane Grimes, Ronan Curran and Diarmaid Gallagher had an emphatic 42-18 win over Monaghan Harps in their final at Beragh while the Loughmacrory Girls team of Aideen Curran, Michaela Curran, Caitlin Conway and Mairead Fox completed a clean sweep for the club in Division 2 with a 40-21 win over Cullohill (Laois) in their final.
The other big success of the day came in the All Ireland Féile na nGael Skill Awards event. This is an event which sees every club have a single player go forward to an All Ireland Skills event where players are assessed on all the skills of the game and Tyrone players claimed the first two places in the end. Loughmacrory’s Antoin Fox proved himself at the highest level as he collected the All Ireland Skill Awards Gold medal, claiming 1st place with Darragh Canavan (Carrickmore) in 2nd and Mikey O’Malley (Mallow, Cork) in 3rd place.
Elsewhere, Breacach girls put in a bold showing in a hugely competitive Girls Division 1 grade, which eventually saw another Ulster win for Clann Eireann of Armagh. Breacach Boys reached the semi final stages of the Division 5 Boys competition in Monaghan while Ceapach also performed admirably in their first Féile endeavour in Division 6.
All Ireland Féile na nGael Handball Tournament Finals 2014
Boys Div 1 Final: Carrickmore (Tyrone) dft Mallow (Cork) 42-16
Girls Div 1 Final: Clann Eireann (Armagh) dft Tulla (Clare) 33-26
Boys Div 2 Final: Loughmacrory (Tyrone) dft Monaghan Harps (Monaghan) 42-18
Girls Div 2 Final: Loughmacrory (Tyrone) dft Cullohill (Laois) 40-21
Boys Div 3 Final: St Josephs (Wexford) dft Abbeyside (Waterford) 42-10
Boys Div 4 Final: Kells (Kilkenny) dft Cashel (Tipperary) 42-27
Boys Div 5 Final: Crinkle (Offaly) dft Liscarroll (Cork) 38-36
Boys Div 6 Final: Kingscourt (Cavan) dft Na Fianna (Dublin) 42-19
Loughmacrory host Ulster One Wall Championships
The 2014 GAA Handball Ulster One Wall Championships has seen an impressive entry of just over 160 players from seven counties and it is all systems go for what promises to be a hugely competitive event.
The second ever One Wall Championship Tournament in Ulster will go ahead at the brand newly launched One Wall complex in Loughmacrory, Tyrone. This facility is part of a £1m project in the small Tyrone lakeside community and will comprise 3 full sized championship (covered) courts and will be officially launched with the full project at this weekend’s event. The action promises to be very exciting in 2014 with the very best players from across the province of Ulster converging on Loughmacrory for the two day event, which will see players in action (all singles) from Under 12 up to Golden Masters (50+).
The event took place for the first time in 2013 at St. Ciaran’s College, Ballygawley, and in the two main events saw triumphs for Darragh Daly (Tyrone) and Lorraine Havern (Down). Daly overcame Armagh’s rising star, Conall McCavitt, in the final of the Mens Open and Havern defeated Senior 40×20 and world champion, Aisling Reilly (Antrim) in the Ladies Open decider. Tyrone will again hold strong claims in the Mens and Ladies Open but Shanks (Armagh) and Fitzpatrick (Cavan) will be difficult to deny in the Mens Open and Havern and Reilly will again be hard to stop in the Ladies Open.
Action will get underway from 10.30am on Saturday 28th June 2014 with all semi finals and finals down for Sunday 29th June from 10.30am.
To follow all draws and fixtures schedule log onto:
(Round 1 and Quarter Final losers go into Mens Open Shield Event)
Round 1
1. Pol Clarke, Breacach v Michael Donnelly, Carrickmore
Quarter Final:
A. Darragh Daly, Carrickmore v Winner Match 1
B. Conor McElduff, Breacach v Darren Doherty, Emyvale
C. Paul Fitzpatrick, St Patrick’s Cavan v Gabhain McCrystall, Breacach
D. Charly Shanks, Clann Eireann v Shane O’Neill, Breacach
Division 1 team of Darragh Canavan, Cormac Munroe, Lorcan McBride and Ciara Mullan are presented with their All Ireland medals from GAA Handball President, Willie Roche. Also present are Carrickmore coaches Martin Mullan and Caolan Daly.
FeileSkillsBoysDivision1Winners.jpg – Mikey O’Malley, Mallow (Bronze), Antoin Fox, Loughmacrory (Gold) and Darragh Canavan, Carrickmore (Silver) with their medals following the All Ireland Division One Boys Skill awards event at the weekend.
The Loughmacrory Girls Feile team which defeated Cullohill (Laois) to claim the All Ireland Feile Girls Division 2 title at the weekend are presented with their medals from GAA Handball President, Willie Roche. Pictured L to R are: Caitlin Conway, Lisa McAleer (Coach), Aideen Curran (Capt), GAA Handball President, Willie Roche, Mairead Fox, Kenny Curran (Coach), Michaela Curran.
LoughmacroryFeileTmDiv1Boys.jpg – The Loughmacrory Feile Team which captured the All Ireland Division 2 Boys Feile title at the wekeend. Pictured L to R are: Shane Grimes, Diarmaid Gallagher, Antoin Fox (Capt), Dara Curran, Ronan Curran.
The brand new Loughmacrory One Wall Handball Complex which will be officially launched with the hosting of the Ulster One Wall Handball Championships this weekend.
BrandedOneWallCourts19thJune2014E CarrickmoreBoysFeileTmDiv1Winners ClannEireannFeileTmGirlsDiv1Winners FeileSkillsBoysDivision1Winners LmacroryGirlsFeileTmDiv2WinnersL LoughmacroryFeileTeamDiv1Boys

By tyronepro Mon 23rd Jun

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners