Admin Login

National Handball Award for Niall

By damian Tue 30th Nov

National Handball Award for Niall
National Handball Award for Niall

Niall Kerr from Brackey Handball Club Beragh who was award the Club Person of the Year receives his trophy from Tony Hannon, President GAA Handball.
All Star Handballers honoured for 2010 achievements
Despite the adverse weather conditions, over 400 guests attended the GAA Handball All-Star Awards Banquet in Croke Park on Saturday evening. Provincial All Star Award winners (listed below) were presented and the 2010 National Award Winners for 2010 also:
Male Player of 2010: Eoin Kennedy (Dublin)
Female Player of 2010: Maria Daly (Kerry)
International Player of 2010: Aisling Reilly (Antrim)
Club of the Year: St Comans (Roscommon)
Youth Male Player of the Year – Darren Doherty (Monaghan)
Youth Female Player of the Year – Ciana Ní Churraoin (Galway)
Young Male Player of the Year – Seamus O’Carroll (Limerick)
Young Female Player of the Year – Catriona Casey (Cork)
Masters Player of the Year – Johnny Brennan (Kilkenny)
Official of the Year – Brendan Falvey (Kerry)
Coach of the Year – Eugene O’Reilly (Meath)
Clubperson of the Year – Niall Kerr (Tyrone)
Special Achievement of the Year – Aiden Bell (Mayo)
Team of the Year – Ballaghadereen (Mayo)
Hall of Fame – John Williams (Galway), Pat O’Keefe (Kilkenny), Tom ‘Roundy’ McEllistrim (Kerry), Eugene Maguire (Tyrone).
A special feature was also televised on Saturday as GAA Handball looked back on 85 Years of All Ireland Senior Softball 60×30 Championships. 8 ‘Legends of the Game’ were featured as part of this feature and took part in an intriguing Q&A with RTE’s Marty Morrissey at the Awards Banquet were Clare legend, Pat Kirby, also spoke too the Banquet via satelite link from California.
The 8 Legends chosen for the feature, to be screened as part of the newly announced ‘GAA Handball Show’ to be televised on TG4 every Monday evening at 8.30pm, commencing on Monday 3rd January 2011, were: Dick Lyng (Wexford), Joey Maher (Louth), John  Kirby (Clare), Tommy O’Rourke (Kildare), Ducksy Walsh (Kilkenny), Walter O’Connor (Meath), Tom Sheridan (Meath) and Eoin Kennedy (Dublin).
Full review, including podcasts and photos, will follow on Highlights from this very successful and entertaining event will be shown on TG4 on Friday 17th December 2010, 8.30pm.
Ulster All-Star Award Winners 2010
 Male Player:  Paul Brady (Cavan)
Female Player:  Aisling Reilly (Antrim)
Young Male Player:  Padraig McKenna (Monaghan)
Young Female Player:  Lorraine Havern (Down)
Youth Male Player:  Darren Doherty (Monaghan)
Youth Female Player:  Maeve McElduff (Tyrone)
Masters Player:  Michael Todd (Monaghan)
Official  of the Year:  Michael Quinn (Eugene Quinn, Armagh)
Club Person of the Year:  Niall Kerr (Brackey, Tyrone)
Coach of the Year:  Martin Mullan (Carrickmore, Tyrone)
Special Achievement of the Year:  James Doyle (St. Killian’s, Armagh)
Hall of Fame:  Eugene Maguire (Carrickmore, Tyrone)
Team of the Year:  Tyrone U12/13 Team (Sean Kerr, Pauric Mullan, Turlough Clarke, Niall Allison, Jack Campbell, Ronan McKay & Aaron Owens)
Club of the Year:  Bawn, Monaghan

By damian Tue 30th Nov

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners