Admin Login

Tyrone crash out of 2014 Championship

By tyronepro Tue 15th Jul

Tyrone crash out of 2014 Championship
Tyrone crash out of 2014 Championship

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 2B: Tyrone 0-10 Armagh 0-13
Armagh moved into Round 3B of the All-Ireland Football Qualifiers with a three-point win over Tyrone at Healy Park, Omagh on Sunday afternoon.
With Tony Kernan (0-4) and Jamie Clarke (0-2) doing most of their scoring in the first half, Armagh led by 0-7 to 0-5 at the break and had the numerical advantage following the dismissal of Tyrone defender Mattie Donnelly in the 27th minute for a second yellow card offence.
Donnelly was initially booked in an early melee, but with goalkeeper Niall Morgan pulling off a fine save from Clarke and pointing from a long-range free, Tyrone were level at 0-2 apiece early on.
Kernan slotted over a succession of frees before the break, ensuring the Orchard County went in ahead, while Tyrone also lost Ronan McNamee to concussion in the first half.
Tyrone, with Stephen O’Neill by now on the field, edged ahead by the 41st minute through a Seán Cavangh free, Andy Mallon and substitute Aaron Kernan had the visitors two ahead once again.
A pair of Darren McCurry frees dragged the Red Hands back level, but they failed to register a single score in the final 23 minutes and a Rory Grugan score from play had the orchard County three clear and with one foot in the next round.
Tyrone: N Morgan (0-1f) , A McCrory, R McNamee, PJ Quinn, R McNabb, M Donnelly, J McMahon, C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh (0-5, 5f), E McKenna, K Coney (0-1), C McGinley, D McCurry (0-2, 2f), N McKenna (0-1), C McAliskey. Subs: C Gormley for McNamee (32), B Tierney for McGinley (32), S O’Neill for McAliskey (ht), M Penrose for Quinn (47), P McNeice for E McKenna, Mark Donnelly for Coney (62)
Armagh: P McEvoy, M Murray, J Morgan, A Mallon (0-1), M Shields (0-1), C Vernon, C McKeever, S Harold (0-1), A Findon, A Forker, K Dyas, S Campbell (0-1), T Kernan (0-4, 3f, 1’45), S Forker, J Clarke (0-3, 2f). Subs: A Kernan (0-01f) for Morgan (40), K Carragher for S Forker (44), R Grugan (0-01) for A Forker (54), B Donaghy for T Kernan (66), F Moriarty for McKeever (BC, 33).
Referee: C Reilly (Meath).
IMG_3333e IMG_3244e IMG_3223e IMG_3029e IMG_2963e

By tyronepro Tue 15th Jul

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners