Admin Login


By tyronepro Mon 18th May

Donegal scored an unanswered eight points to defeat Tyrone in the Ulster Minor Football Championship Preliminary Round tie in Ballybofey.
A hugely fancied Donegal side, who featured six of the team which lost last year’s All-Ireland final to Kerry, got off to a dream start with Conor Doherty’s goal and a point inside the opening three minutes.
However Tyrone responded well and had their best spell of the game in the second quarter, outscoring the home side by seven points to one to take a 0-8 to 1-3 lead towards the end of the first half.
Corner-forward Conan McLernon hit four points from play with full-forward Fintan McClure’s outstanding long-range point with the outside of his boot the best of the game.
Donegal hit two late first-half points to draw level at 1-5 to 0-8 at the break – and they scored six unanswered points in the second half with Tyrone failing to score.
Niall O’Donell scored twice from play with Kane Barrett accurate from placed balls.
Tyrone’s frustration boiled over in the closing stages with three black cards, and they finished the game with 14 men having used all their subs by the time Michael McKernan was dismissed in injury-time.
Donegal go forward to a first round clash with Armagh in four weeks time.
Scorers for Donegal: C Doherty 1-1, K Barrett 0-4 (3f, one ’45’), N O’Donnell 0-2, E O’Donnell 0-2 (1f), D O Baoill, R Carr 0-1 each
Scorers for Tyrone: C McLernon 0-4, J Darcy, J Harkin, R Coleman, F McClure 0-1 each
DONEGAL: D Rodgers; G McFadden, S McMenamin, P Doherty; D O Baoill, N Gavigan, B McCole; M Carroll, M Langan; N O Baoill, N O’Donnell, R Carr; C Doherty, K Barrett, E O’Donnell. Subs: P McNern for E O’Donnell, J McGee for Gavigan (HT), S McHugh for N O Baoill (51), M Coyle for Carr (56), B Curran for D O Baoill (59).
TYRONE: B Gallen; C McGlinchey, C McGuigan, C Shields; E Murray, C Campbell, J Harkin; J Darcy, C O’Hagan; M Corless, D Mulgrew, R Coleman; C McLernon, F McClure, T Carney. Subs: J McGuigan for Carney (20), E McNabb for O’Hagan (HT), B Kennedy for Corless (39), C Kilpatrick for Coleman (42), M McKernan for Harkin (BC, 48), R McGuigan for C McGlinchey (BC, 59).
Referee: Paul Faloon (Down)
Report: Orla Bannon

By tyronepro Mon 18th May

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners