Admin Login

ALLIANZ Cumann na mBunscol – BOYS’ INDOOR FOOTBALL HEAT 6: Loughview

By tyronepro Tue 9th Feb

ALLIANZ Cumann na mBunscol – BOYS’ INDOOR FOOTBALL HEAT 6: Loughview
ALLIANZ Cumann na mBunscol – BOYS’ INDOOR FOOTBALL HEAT 6: Loughview

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Thír Eoghain held the sixth and final Heat of its annual Boys’ Indoor Football competition in the splendid Loughview Centre, Dungannon, on Tuesday 9 February. Eleven schools competed in another action-packed day of superb football. The prize at stake was a coveted place in the County Final. The question was, who would grab it…?
Teams were drawn into two groups of 6 and 5, respectively. Section ‘A’ featured Aughamullan P.S; St. John’ P.S. Kingsisland; Windmill Integrated P.S. and Blessed Patrick O’ Loughran P.S. Castlecaulfield. These school teams gave their all in a bid to qualify for the heat final but, alas for them, didn’t quite make it on this occasion. Two schools were to battle it out for the treasured final berth – St. John’s P.S. Moy and St. Patrick’s P.S. Dungannon. Both teams were unbeaten in their section but, with two wins and two draws, the Moy lads narrowly missed out on qualifying – as the Dungannon boys finished with 4 wins and a draw. It was tough luck for Master Campbell’s Moy team, but Master Muldoon’s Dungannon school deservedly booked their place in the Heat 6 final.
Section ‘B’ comprised St. Brigid’s P.S. Brocagh; Edendork P.S; Gaelscoil Uí Néill and Primate Dixon P.S. Coalisland. As was the case in Group ‘A’, these teams displayed no little grit and skill as they endeavoured to join Dungannon in the final. Indeed, Master McQuaid’s Coalisland team and Edendork (led by Harry Óg Conlon) each registered a couple of wins, but this wasn’t enough to stop a formidable St. Patrick’s P.S. Annaghmore team (mentored by Helen Lavery). Having achieved 3 wins and a draw, the Clonoe boys topped their section and achieved a fully merited place in the heat final.
With group qualifiers complete, the appetite was whetted for what promised to be a magnificent tussle between our two remaining unbeaten teams: Dungannon and Annaghmore. It had all the ingredients of a cracking tie – and so it proved. We were treated to a 6-goal spectacular worthy of the occasion. With play flowing from end-to-end, the match was a high quality affair. When the referee sounded his whistle for full-time, the match finished 3:3! Extra-time was required to separate these two superb teams. Which team could find that extra gear to get themselves over the line? As it transpired, it was heartache for the brave Annaghmore lads as two quick-fire goals proved enough to dash their hopes. However, they did themselves and their school proud on the day – well done, lads! Dungannon, on the other hand, courtesy of that 5:3 win (AET) book themselves a place in the Tyrone Indoor Co. Final to be held next month in MUSA, Cookstown. Master Muldoon is a proud man today. We wish his talented St. Patrick’s P.S. Dungannon team well.
Ádh mór oraibh!
A huge word of thanks to our host (Joe McAree, Loughview Centre), referee Marty Devlin, Stewartstown, and Eddie Doris (Rúnaí Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Thír Eoghain) for helping ensure the success of this heat. Go raibh maith agaibh!
Our 6 county finalists are now known: Carrickmore; Loughmacrory; Holy Family, Omagh, Donaghmore, Cabragh and Dungannon.
Exciting times lie ahead for these schools in their quest to be crowned Tyrone Indoor Football Champions 2016. Bring it on…
Heat 6 Runners-Up St. Patrick's P.S. Annaghmore Heat 6 Winners St. Patrick's P.S. Dungannon Primate Dixon P.S. Coalisland St. Brigid's P.S. Brocagh St. John's P.S. Kingsisland St. John's P.S. Moy Windmill Integrated P.S_ Aughamullan P.S_ Blessed Patrick O' Loughran P.S. Castlecaulfield Edendork P.S_ Gaelscoil Uí Néill

By tyronepro Tue 9th Feb

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners