Admin Login

Daly & Campbell Make Ireland Squad

By damian Mon 9th Jul

The 2012 GAA Handball One Wall Nationals has reached a conclusion following a vast array of top class matches with a series of enthralling finals throughout Sunday.
The Ladies Open title has gone to county Down for the second time in three years following a hugely impressive display from Saval’s Lorraine Havern. Havern has become well know as a ONe Wall specialist, although adds this title to the Ladies 23 & Under four wall 40×20 title she won earlier this year.
Havern, defeated Fiona Shannon (Antrim) in the title decider by 15-2, 15-0, having also denied Sibeal Gallagher (Antrim) in the semi final by 31-4. Shannon had previously overcome Marianna Rushe (Roscommon) by 23-21 in their semi final meeting.
The Mens Open final saw Westmeath’s Robbie McCarthy secure the honours following a thrilling final win over Clare’s Diarmuid Nash by 15-9, 12-15, 11-9. Nash made a sterling comeback in that encounter and lead by 8-1 at a stage before McCarthy kicked into overdrive to deliver 10 aces and win the crown for a second time.
A total of 11 places were filled on Team Ireland following the One Wall Nationals, with tht completing Team Ireland for the 2012 Championships in October.
There is no doubt this was a hugely successful and ground-breaking event for GAA Handball Ireland, with over 2,000 handball enthusiasts enjoying the fantastic surroundings in the purpose built 12 court arena at Citywest. The next occasion the handball world will converge on the Citywest International Events Arena will be from 11th-21st October as 33 countries and over 2,000 competitors will contest an array of world Championship grades. The taste has been given for what to expect and now the build-up really begins to that event.
The team was completed with the following additions:
Mens Open: Diarmuid Nash (Clare)
Ladies Open: Marianna Rushe (Roscommon)
Masters: Tom Sheridan (Meath)
Mens 23 & Under: Caolan Daly (Tyrone)
Ladies 23 & Under: Pauline Gallagher (Mayo)
Boys 19 & Under: Killian Carroll (Cork)
Boys 17 & Under: Conall McCavitt (Armagh)
Boys 15 & Under: Jack Campbell (Tyrone)
Girls 19 & Under: Lauren O’Riordan (Roscommon)
Girls 17 & Under: Martina McMahon (Limerick)
Girls 15 & Under: Niamh Coleman (Armagh)
Mens Open Singles Semi Finals:
Robbie McCarthy (Westmeath) dft Darragh Daly (Tyrone) 23-21
Diarmuid Nash (Clare) dft James Doyle (Armagh) 25-20
MENS OPEN FINAL:  Robbie McCarthy (Westmeath) dft Diarmuid Nash (Clare) 15-9, 12-15, 11-9
Ladies Open Singles Semi Finals:
Lorraine Havern (Down) dft Sibeal Gallagher (Antrim) 31-4
Fiona Shannon (Antrim) dft Marianna Rushe (Roscommon) 23-21
LADIES OPEN FINAL: Lorraine Havern (Down) dft Fiona Shannon (Antrim) 15-2, 15-0
Girls 11 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Leah Doyle dft Mollie Dagg; Dearbhla Coleman dft Elizabeth McGarvey
Girls 11 & Under Singles Final: Dearbhla Coleman dft Leah Doyle
Girls 13 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Hannah Dagg dft Eimear Beatty; Fiona Tully dft Heather Spellman
Girls 13 & Under Singles Final: Fiona Tully dft Hannah Dagg
Girls 15 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Aoife McConville dft Aine O’Keefe; Niamh Coleman dft Aoife Kelly
Girls 15 & Under Singles Final: Niamh Coleman dft Aoife McConville 18-17
Boys 11 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Cian O’Driscoll dft Lorcan McBride 24-13; Eoghan McGinnity dft Dara Curran 17-15
Boys 11 & Under Singles Final: Eoghan McGinnity dft Cian O’Driscoll 23-12
Boys 13 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Sean Kerr dft  Cian Ó Conghaile 31-5; Diarmuid Mulkerrins dft Cormac Munroe 20-16
Boys 15 & Under Singles Final: Sean Kerr dft Diarmuid Mulkerrins 31-7
Boys 15 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Jack Campbell dft Daniel Curry; Ronan Ó Beolain dft Brian McAnenly
Boys 15 & Under Singles Final: Jack Campbell dft Ronan Ó Beolain
Boys 17 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Conall McCavitt dft Patrick McCrory ; Darren Doherty dft Pat Havern
Boys 17 & Under Singles Final: Conall McCavitt dft Darren Doherty 31-6
Boys 19 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Killian Carroll dft Keith Kavanagh 31-4; Conor McElduff dft Martin Mulkerrins 13-10
Boys 19 & Under Singles Final: Killian Carroll dft Conor McElduff 23-16
Ladies Challenger Singles Semi-Finals: Michelle Warren dft Aoife O’Leary; Avoureen Coleman dft Ciara McLoughlin
Ladies Challenger Singles Final: Avoureen Coleman dft Michelle Warren
Ladies B Singles Semi-Finals: Karen Lawlor dft Patricia Doyle; Ellen O’Connor dft Siobhan Tully
Ladies B Singles Final: Karen Lawlor dft Ellen O’Connor
Ladies 23 & Under Singles: Winner – Pauline Gallagher, Runner-up – Amy Corrigan
Girls 19 & Under Singles: Winner – Catriona Casey, Runner-up – Lauren O’Riordain
Girls 17 & Under Singles: Winner – Ciana Ní Churraoin, Runner-up – Martina McMahon
Mens 23 & Under Singles Semi-Finals: Stephen Cooney dft Seamus O’Carroll; Caolan Daly dft Ciaran Burke
Mens 23 & Under Singles Final: Stephen Cooney dft Caolan Daly
Mens 23 & Under B Singles Semi Finals: Christopher McKenna dft Alan Armstrong; James Smith dft Kevin Mulligan
Mens 23 & Under B Singles Final: Christopher McKenna dft James Smith
Mens B Singles Semi-Finals: Johnny Willoughby dft NIall Flynn; Dan Fenlon dft Jerome Willoughby
Mens B Singles Final: Johnny Willoughby dft Dan Fenlon
Mens C Singles Semi Finals: Fintan Creamer v Denis White; Sean Digney v Cathal Sheridan
Masters (40+) Singles Semi Finals: David King dft Niall Kerr 21-12; Tom Sheridan dft Aenghus Cunningham 31-4
Masters (40+) Singles Final: Tom Sheridan dft David King 22-14
Silver Masters (45+) Singles Semi Finals: Padraig Maguire dft Sean McNally; Paul Cassidy dft Michael Armstrong
Silver Masters (45+) Singles Final: Padraig Maguire dft Paul Cassidy
Golden Masters (50+) Singles Semi Finals: Conor McMahon dft Frank Kerins; Conor McDonnell dft Anthony McCann
Golden Masters (50+) Singles Final: Conor McMahon dft Conor McDonnell 18-17
Emerald Masters (55+) Singles Semi Finals: Brian Havern dft Peter McSherry; Peter Larkin dft Ollie Deegan
Emerald Masters (55+) Singles Final: Brian Havern dft Peter Larkin
Diamond Masters Singles (60+): Winner – Richard Willoughby, Runner-up – Eugene Kennedy
By damian Mon 9th Jul

Related News

View All

Main Sponsors

Our Partners